Newport Draw Swansea in Headline Tie of 2020-21 Carabao Cup First Round

Newport County has drawn Welsh rivals, Swansea City in a headline tie from the opening First Round draw for the 2020-21 Carabao Cup. 

League Two’s Newport County will host Swansea’s first at Rodney Parade for the first time since November 2006, despite having met the Swans’ under-21 team in 2016-17 and 17-18 EFL Trophy competitions. 

This Welsh derby has seen both teams score in seven of last eight meetings in all competitions, adding extra spice to what is a headline tie from both Northern and Southern sections of the draw. 

1991 winners, Sheffield Wednesday face a tough trip to the Banks’ Stadium as they face Walsall of League Two in the headline tie from the Northern section. 

EFL newcomers, Harrogate Town will visit Tranmere Rovers in their first-ever League Cup tie, whilst National League winners – Barrow will face a difficult trip to Derby in their first League Cup tie since losing to Preston in August 1971. 

Losing Championship Play-Off finalists, Brentford will begin life at the Brentford Community Stadium with a home tie against Championship newcomers, Wycombe Wanderers. 

Two other all Championship clashes were also drawn as Nottingham Forest head to Barnsley, whilst Norwich City face a 207.4 mile round trip as they visit Luton. 

QPR and Cardiff of the Championship both face tough opening round away trips to Plymouth and Northampton respectively. 

First Round ties are to be played across weekend of 4-6 September 2020, unless international duty permits clubs to schedule their ties on alternative dates. 


2020-21 Carabao Cup Round One Draw

Northern Section

Tranmere Rovers vs Harrogate

Crewe Alexandra vs Lincoln City

Walsall vs Sheffield Wednesday

Rochdale vs Huddersfield Town

Preston North End vs Mansfield Town

Bolton Wanderers vs Bradford City

Blackburn Rovers vs Doncaster Rovers

Stoke City vs Blackpool

Fleetwood Town vs Wigan Athletic

Grimsby Town vs Morecambe

Middlesbrough vs Shrewsbury Town

Derby County vs Barrow

Scunthorpe United vs Port Vale

Sunderland vs Hull City

Burton Albion vs Accrington Stanley

Salford City vs Rotherham United 

Barnsley vs Nottingham Forest

Oldham Athletic vs Carlisle United 


Southern Section

Bristol City vs Exeter City

Plymouth Argyle vs QPR

Swindon Town vs Charlton Athletic

Forest Green Rovers vs Leyton Orient 

MK Dons vs Coventry City

Crawley Town vs Millwall 

Stevenage vs Portsmouth

Peterborough United vs Cheltenham Town

Brentford vs Wycombe Wanderers 

Northampton Town vs Cardiff City

Luton Town vs Norwich City

Birmingham City vs Cambridge United 

Newport County vs Swansea City

Oxford United vs AFC Wimbledon

Reading vs Colchester United 

Gillingham vs Southend United

Ipswich Town vs Bristol Rovers

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.