F3 2020: David Beckmann Snatches Hungarian Race Two Victory

David Beckmann took a dramatic F3 Hungary Race Two win after Bent Viscaal was penalised. (Image credit: Joe Portlock/Getty Images)

David Beckmann snatched a dramatic maiden F3 victory after Bent Viscaal served a 10 second time penalty, despite taking the checkered flag first in a thrilling Hungarian Race Two. 

Beckmann initially struggled in the damp conditions having lost the lead to Dennis Hauger then a rapid Bent Viscaal, of whom collected two sets of five second time penalties and looked set to take victory until a late safety car ruined Viscaal’s chances of the win.

Beckmann consequently inherited the win once the 10s penalty was applied to the timings, with Oscar Piastri and Hauger rounding out the podium. 

Speaking post race on his dramatic victory in bizarre circumstances, Beckmann described the race as “intense” before admitting that he is “really happy with the win and I think that we made the best out of the situation.” 

Embed from Getty Images

Beckmann made a clean start to lead from Hauger as Clement Novalak made a poor start, to eventually cling onto third in the opening laps from Logan Sargeant. 

Hauger however would snatch the lead with a clean outside move on Beckmann around turn two, before Viscaal collided with Igor Fraga to send the Brazilian spinning out with damage as the Dutchman incurred his first time penalty. 

Beckmann soon set about chasing down Hauger until the safety car was deployed on lap eight, after Liam Lawson once again stopped with an engine issue and it was eventually Hauger who kept his lead on the safety car restart on lap 10. 

Viscaal was rapid upon the restart as he quickly passed MP Motorsport teammate, Richard Verschoor and then Prema’s Logan Sargeant for fourth, eventually clinching third from Novalak with an inside move in the final corner at end of the lap. 

Novalak soon slid out of the points as he struggled with the wet tyres as Sargeant and Piastri soon past him on lap 11, beginning a downward spiral to eventually finish 12th as the second highest placed Brit behind Max Fewtrell in 11th. 

Back out at the front, Viscaal got Beckmann with an outside move into the first corner on lap 13 before taking the lead from Hauger with a strong entry into the final corner. 

Viscaal however soon found himself under investigation again for passing Sargeant whilst off track, which forced Viscaal into a furious charge to build a 10s gap in case of another penalty, which ultimately was served his way by the stewards. 

Beckmann however had passed Hauger on lap 17 on exit of turn one after a brief banging of his front left tyre with the Danish driver’s rear right, which gave the German enough traction to make the move for second. 

Beckmann kept the gap around 6.5 seconds which proved enough for victory after Frederico crashed on lap 20 to bring out the safety car, wiping out Viscaal’s gap to give Beckmann victory from Piastri and Hauger. 

Sargeant, Verschoor, Theo Pourchaire, Aleksandr Smolyar, Sebastian Fernandez, Enzo Fittipaldi and Alex Peroni rounded out the top ten, with Smolyar having gained 20 places from 27th on grid to finish seventh. 

Viscaal slid to 17th position once the 10s time penalty was applied despite taking the checkered flag under a safety car finish. 

In the drivers’ championship, Piastri now lead Sargeant by 26 points after taking two points for fastest lap of a 1m 50.721 set on lap 19, with Pourchaire still third by just half a point from Beckmann as Verschoor rounds out the top five. 

Update: Jack Doohan received a 20s post race time penalty for contact with Vesti, dropping him down from 24th to 25th position.



Position Driver Team Laps Time
1 David Beckmann Trident 22 43m 54.224
2 Oscar Piastri Prema 22 + 1.026
3 Dennis Hauger Hitech GP 22 + 1.522
4 Logan Sargeant Prema 22 + 1.975
5 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 22 + 2.497
6 Theo Pourchaire ART GP 22 + 2.724
7 Aleksandr Smolyar ART GP 22 + 3.220
8 Sebastian Fernandez ART GP 22 + 3.594
9 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab 22 + 3.939
10 Alex Peroni  Campos 22 + 4.665
11 Max Fewtrell Hitech GP 22 + 5.558
12 Clement Novalak Carlin 22 + 5.911
13 David Schumacher Charouz 22 + 6.351
14 Sophia Floersch Campos 22 + 7.584
15 Calan Williams Jenzer 22 + 8.158
16 Lirim Zendeli Trident 22 + 9.253
17 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport 22 + 9.377
18 Olli Caldwell Trident 22 + 10.023
19 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 22 + 11.385
20 Roman Stanek Charouz 22 + 12.231
21 Enaam Ahmed Carlin 22 + 24.654
22 Cameron Das Carlin 22 + 49.970
23 Alessio Deledda Campos 22 + 51.050
24 Matteo Nannini Jenzer 21 + 1m 51.752
25 Jack Doohan HWA Racelab 22 + 1 Lap
26 Frederico Malvestiti Jenzer 19 + 3 Laps
27 Frederik Vesti Prema 12 Collision
28 Liam Lawson Hitech GP 7 Engine
29 Igor Fraga Charouz 2 Collision
30 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport 1 Collision

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.