F2 2020: Hungarian GP – Friday

Callum Ilott mastered the rainy conditions to take his second F2 pole. (Image credit: Clive Mason/Getty Images)

After a fortnight in the Styrian mountains of Spielberg, Formula Two made the trip across to Hungary for the opening day of the third round of their 2020 season. 

Prema’s Robert Shwartzman entered this round as championship leader but rain played a massive role in the day’s events across practice and qualifying as we bring the roundup of both sessions. 



Embed from Getty Images

Rain greeted drivers at the start of practice with several struggling to build temperature in the tyres, until race control declared the track wet just as Dan Ticktum spun out of the penultimate corner.

Everyone quickly took to the pits until Felipe Drugovich and Artem Markelov ventured out to explore conditions, with Markelov setting the early pace until his HWA Racelab teammate, Giuliano Alesi posted a session topping 1m 42.926 in the 27th minute. 

MP Motorsport, Trident and Campos were the only other teams to send both drivers back out on track, alongside HWA Racelab which paid dividends for Campos when Jack Aitken posted the second fastest time shortly before the flag. 

Alesi therefore finished fastest by 1.174s from Aitken with Marino Sato, Markelov, Louis Deletraz, Guilherme Samaia, Roy Nissany and the two MP Motorsport cars of Drugovich and Nobuharu Matsushita who rounded out the nine drivers to post a lap time. 

Everyone else including championship leader, Shwartzman of Prema instead opted to sit the rest of session out once the rain increased in intensity, without setting a lap time. 



Embed from Getty Images

Qualifying saw wet conditions again greet the drivers as Yuki Tsunoda led the field out, whilst Uni-Virtuosi warned Guanyu Zhou that further rain was on its way and to try and bank in an early lap. 

Samaia however caused an early stoppage after spinning on the exit of turn four and stalling the car, with the session resuming four minutes after the red flag was shown. 

Luca Ghiotto and Louis Deletraz traded fastest laps early on once the session resumed until ART GP’s Christian Lundgaard leapt to the top of the timesheet with a 1m 51.729. 

Schumacher then Ghiotto snatched the fastest time until Callum Ilott who had opted to run longer, produced a stunning 1m 50.767 to clinch an eventual second F2 pole with ten minutes left. 

Embed from Getty Images

Everyone then returned to pits to quickly prepare for their final runs which was curtailed with four minutes left, when Jehan Daruvala spun and beached his car in the gravel on the exit of turn eight.

Stewards then decided that with little time left, it was unlikely that anyone would improve so declared that the session wouldn’t be restarted, putting Ilott on pole from Ghiotto and Zhou. 

Ticktum qualified an impressive fourth ahead of Schumacher, Lundgaard, Armstrong, Aitken, Sean Gelael and Alesi who round out the top ten. 




Position Driver Team Time
1 Giuliano Alesi HWA Racelab 1m 45.926
2 Jack Aitken Campos + 1.174
3 Marino Sato Trident + 1.738
4 Artem Markelov HWA Racelab + 1.800
5 Louis Deletraz Charouz + 1.860
6 Guilherme Samaia Campos + 3.203
7 Roy Nissany Trident + 3.471
8 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport + 4.487
9 Nobuharu Matsushita MP Motorsport + 15.386
10 Jehan Daruvala Carlin No Time Set
11 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin No Time Set
12 Christian Lundgaard ART GP No Time Set
13 Nikita Mazepin Hitech GP No Time Set
14 Guanyu Zhou Uni-Virtuosi No Time Set
15 Dan Ticktum DAMS No Time Set
16 Luca Ghiotto Hitech GP No Time Set
17 Armstrong ART GP No Time Set
18 Pedro Piquet Charouz No Time Set
19 Mick Schumacher Prema No Time Set
20 Callum Ilott Uni-Virtuosi No Time Set
21 Sean Gelael DAMS No Time Set
22 Robert Shwartzman Prema No Time Set



Position Driver Team Time
1 Callum Ilott Uni-Virtuosi 1m 50.767
2 Luca Ghiotto Hitech GP + 0.308
3 Guanyu Zhou Uni-Virtuosi + 0.523
4 Dan Ticktum DAMS + 0.612
5 Mick Schumacher Prema + 0.817
6 Christian Lundgaard ART GP + 0.962
7 Marcus Armstrong ART GP + 1.195
8 Jack Aitken Campos + 1.729
9 Sean Gelael DAMS + 1.733
10 Giuliano Alesi HWA Racelab + 1.800
11 Robert Shwartzman Prema + 1.948
12 Louis Deletraz Charouz + 1.962
13 Pedro Piquet Charouz + 2.103
14 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin + 2.448
15 Jehan Daruvala Carlin + 2.521
16 Nikita Mazepin Hitech GP + 2.695
17 Artem Markelov HWA Racelab + 2.802
18 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport + 2.816
19 Marino Sato Trident + 2.891
20 Roy Nissany Trident + 3.969
21 Nobuharu Matsushita MP Motorsport + 5.102
22 Guilherme Samaia Campos No Time Set

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.