EFL Confirm Details Of 2022-23 Carabao Cup Third Round Draw

(Image credit: @crawleytown)

The EFL have confirmed details for the Third Round draw of 2022-23 Carabao Cup, as the final seven teams enter the competition. 

Like for the Second Round draw, the Third Round draw will also be televised live on Sky Sports following the conclusion of tonight’s (24 August) match between Tranmere Rovers and Newcastle United at Prenton Park.

John Barnes and John Aldridge will conduct the draw which sees reigning champions, Liverpool enter the competition alongside; Arsenal, Chelsea, Manchester City, Manchester United, Tottenham Hotspur and West Ham United who are all involved in European competition this season.

All seven teams will be joined by the Second Round winners, including League Two’s Crawley Town who are seeded as ball number nine, after they stunned Premier League’s Fulham with goals from Tom Nichols and James Balagizi followed by a pitch invasion at full-time.

EFL officials however have criticised those who participated in that pitch invasion with the following statement:

“The EFL condemns the actions taken by a number of individuals leading up to, during and following the unacceptable mass pitch incursion at the end of Crawley Town’s Second Round Carabao Cup tie against Fulham at the Broadfield Stadium on Tuesday evening.”

EFL and the English FA have also announced that investigations are underway in collaboration with Crawley Town to identify those responsible and circumstances which led to the incident.

Third Round ties will be played across 8-9 November 2022, rather than its traditional late September date due to schedule disruption caused by 2022 FIFA World Cup.

Here are the ball numbers for the Third Round draw of 2022-23 Carabao Cup in full;

Ball Number Team
1 AFC Bournemouth
2 Arsenal
3 Aston Villa
4 Blackburn Rovers
5 Brentford
6 Burnley
7 Charlton
8 Chelsea
9 Crawley Town
10 Crystal Palace
11 Derby County
12 Everton
13 Gillingham
14 Leicester City
15 Lincoln City
16 Liverpool
17 Manchester City
18 Manchester United
19 MK Dons
20 Morecambe
21 Newport County
22 Nottingham Forest
23 Sheffield Wednesday
24 Southampton
25 Stevenage
26 Tottenham Hotspur
27 West Ham United
28 Wolves
29 Brighton
30 Leeds United
31 Newcastle United
32 Bristol City

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.