F1 Confirms 2021 Season Calendar Tweaks

(Image credit: Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

Formula One has announced that the Australian and Chinese Grands Prix have been postponed, with Imola now returning in mid April. 

Due to the on-going Coronavirus pandemic, Australian authorities have decided to postpone the Melbourne-based Grand Prix following consultation with F1.

Agreement however has been reached for the race to be rescheduled for 18-21 November 2021 as the third-last race of this season.

New President and CEO of F1, Stefano Domenicali described the early decision to reschedule F1’s trip Down Under as ‘great news’ given that there is little over two months until the race’s original date.

The season will now begin in Bahrain on weekend of 26-28 March with Imola returning to the calendar three weeks later, taking place across 16-18 April in place of the Chinese Grand Prix which has been postponed as a result of ‘ongoing travel restrictions’ surrounding China.

Speaking on Imola’s return for a second consecutive season, Domenicali said; “We are very excited to announce that Imola will return for the 2021 season and know our fans will be looking forward to the return of Formula 1 after the winter break and our revised season opener in Bahrain.”

Formula One Management will continue discussions with the promoter and authorities concerning the possibility of rescheduling the race for later this season if possible.

Another race will also return in TBC slot which will now be held across weekend of 30 April – 2 May, although these calendar changes need approval from the World Motor Sport Council.

F1 however reiterated that the number of races within this 2021 season will remain at 23 races, with the season starting and finishing a week later than originally scheduled, with Abu Dhabi bringing the campaign to a close on 12 December.

Brazil meanwhile moves to 5-7 November to create an American triple header which begins from 22-24 October with US GP, followed by Mexico on weekend of 29-31 October then concludes at Interlagos with the Brazilian GP.

Domenicali however warned that the situation ‘remains fluid’ but acknowledged that the experience of last season will enable the sport to adapt as necessary throughout this season.

Here is a full revised calendar featuring all 23 races plus dates.

Grand Prix Circuit Dates
Bahrain Sakhir 26-28 March
Emilia Romagna Imola 16-18
TBC TBC 30 April – 2 May
Spanish Circuit de Catalunya 7-9 May
Monaco Circuit de Monaco 20-23 May
Azerbaijan Baku City Circuit 4-6 June
Canadian Circuit Gilles Villeneuve 11-13 June
French Circuit Paul Ricard 25-27 June
Austrian Red Bull Ring 2-4 July
British Silverstone 16-18 July
Hungarian Hungaroring 30 July – 1 August
Belgian Circuit Spa Francorchamps 27-29 August
Dutch Zandvoort 3-5 September
Italian Monza 10-12 September
Russian Sochi Autodrom 24-26 September
Singapore Marina Bay Street Circuit 1-3 October
Japanese Suzuka 8-10 October
USA Circuit of the Americas 22-24 October
Mexico Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez 29-31 October
Brazil Interlagos 5-7 November
Australia Albert Park 18-21 November
Saudi Arabia Jeddah Street Circuit 3-5 December
Abu Dhabi Yas Marina Circuit 10-12 December

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Which Old Tracks Should Return to F1? – Sport Grill

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.