Craig Gordon Earns Scotland Recall for November Internationals

Steve Clarke has named a 27-man squad for this month’s international fixtures, as Hearts’ Craig Gordon returns to the Scotland squad after a two-year absence.

Gordon replaces Livingston’s Robby McCrorie in the goalkeeper selection as Derby’s David Marshall retains his place alongside Rangers’ Jon McLaughlin for their Euro 2020 Qualifying Play-Off Final against Serbia on 12 November, before visiting Slovakia and Israel on 15 and 18 November respectively.

Tartan Army captain, Andrew Robertson returns after sitting out their win over Czech Republic last month through suspension with Liam Cooper and Scott McKenna also returning from injury, whilst Kieran Tierney is also back in the lineup after having to miss October’s action due to self-isolation after contact with Southampton’s Stuart Armstrong who tested positive.

Norwich’s Grant Hanley is also back in the squad as Hibernian’s Ryan Porteous, Paul Hanlon and Paul McGinn all drop out of the squad.

Ross McCrorie and John Fleck have both been omitted from the midfield selection as Oliver Burke switches into midfield after being named amongst the forwards last month.

Up front, Oli McBurnie, Lyndon Dykes, Callum Paterson and Lawrence Shankland all retain their places as Celtic’s Leigh Griffiths returns to the squad after last featuring in 2018.

Here is the full Scotland squad to feature in their Nations League Play-Off Final against Serbia in Belgrade on 12 November 2020 before away Nations League trips to Slovakia then Israel on 15 and 18 November respectively, which concludes their Nations League B2 campaign, where one win would see them promoted to League A.

Goalkeepers; Craig Gordon (Hearts), David Marshall (Derby County), Jon McLaughlin (Rangers)

Defence; Andrew Considine (Aberdeen), Liam Cooper (Leeds), Declan Gallagher (Motherwell), Scott McKenna (Nottingham Forest), Grant Hanley (Norwich), Stephen O’Donnell (Motherwell), Liam Palmer (Sheffield Wednesday), Andrew Robertson (Liverpool), Greg Taylor (Celtic), Kieran Tierney (Arsenal)

Midfield: John McGinn (Aston Villa), Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), Ryan Christie (Celtic), Ryan Jack (Rangers), Callum McGregor (Celtic), Kenny McLean (Norwich City), Scott McTominay (Manchester United), Oliver Burke (Sheffield United), Ryan Fraser (Newcastle United)

Forward: Oli McBurnie (Sheffield United), Lyndon Dykes (QPR), Callum Paterson (Cardiff City), Lawrence Shankland (Dundee United), Leigh Griffiths (Celtic)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.