Chelsea Face Tough Title Defence as 2020-21 Continental League Cup Groups Announced

Chelsea face a tough defence of their League Cup title after being drawn in an all-London group in the First Round of the 2020-21 Continental League Cup.

Emma Hayes’ Blues have been drawn in Group B alongside fellow finalists of last season’s competition, Arsenal plus fellow London rivals, London City Lionesses and Tottenham Hotspur in the slightly revised opening round, which has seen teams split into six groups instead with four teams in Groups A-D plus F and three clubs put in Groups E.

Group C also sees mouth-watering local derbies after Liverpool and Everton were paired alongside Manchester United and three-times champions, Manchester City in an all North-West group, which could represent the only Merseyside derby this season if the Reds and Toffees don’t meet in the Women’s FA Cup after Liverpool were relegated from WSL at end of last season.

Elsewhere, West Ham will meet Charlton in Group D with both teams also drawn against Reading and Brighton & Hove Albion whilst Groups A and E will see Midlands derbies as Coventry United face Aston Villa and Birmingham meet Leicester respectively.

All teams in each group will play each other once with the first round set to commence in the midweek of 7-8 October 2020, with the six group winners all progressing to the Quarter-Finals alongside the two best group runners-up.

Details for further rounds plus the date and venue for the Final will be announced in due course.

Full list of who is in each group can be found below;

Group A – Coventry United, Aston Villa, Sheffield United, Durham

Group B – Chelsea, Tottenham Hotspur, Arsenal, London City Lionesses

Group C – Liverpool, Manchester United, Everton, Manchester City

Group D – West Ham United, Charlton, Reading, Brighton & Hove Albion

Group E – Birmingham City, Blackburn Rovers, Leicester City

Group F – Lewes, London Bees, Bristol City, Crystal Palace

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.