Lyndon Dykes Receives First Scotland Call-up

Scotland manager, Steve Clarke has handed QPR’s Lyndon Dykes his first international call-up for next month’s UEFA Nations League matches against Israel and Czech Republic.

Dykes was born on Australia’s Gold Coast but qualifies as a Scotland representative through his parents’ Dunfermline heritage and receives his first Scottish call-up since joining QPR earlier this month from Livingston., where he scored 11 goals in 28 appearances.

Clarke has also handed goalkeeper, Robby McCrorie his first Scotland call-up although he faces tough competition to start in goal against David Marshall and Jon McLaughlin respectively. Craig MacGillivray therefore misses out after failing to play for Portsmouth since January.

Aberdeen’s Michael Devlin misses out in defence through injury as Kieran Tierney receives his first call-up under Steve Clarke’s reign after injury prevented his from participating last Autumn.

Graeme Shinnie meanwhile drops out of midfield whilst there are various changes up front as Steven Naismith, Lewis Morgan, Eamon Brophy and Ryan Fraser are all snubbed with Dyches the only new addition.

Scotland will host their former Group C rivals, Israel at Hampden Park on 4 September 2020 (7:45pm BST) after the latter were promoted following an expansion to four team groups, before visiting Czech Republic on 7 September (7:45pm BST).

Here is the 24-man Scotland Squad to face Israel and Czech Republic;

Goalkeepers: David Marshall (Derby), Jon McLaughlin (Rangers), Robby McCrorie (Livingston)

Defence: Liam Cooper (Leeds), Declan Gallagher (Motherwell), Scott McKenna (Aberdeen), Stephen O’Donnell (Motherwell), Liam Palmer (Sheffield Wednesday), Andrew Robertson (Liverpool), Greg Taylor (Celtic), Kieran Tierney (Arsenal)

Midfield: John McGinn (Aston Villa), Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), Ryan Christie (Celtic), Scott McTominay (Manchester United), John Fleck (Sheffield United), Ryan Jack (Rangers), Callum McGregor (Celtic), Kenny McLean (Norwich City)

Forwards: Oli McBurnie (Sheffield United), Oliver Burke (West Bromwich Albion), Lyndon Dykes (QPR), James Forrest (Celtic), Lawrence Shankland (Dundee United)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.