Stephen Kenny Names Republic of Ireland Squad for September Internationals

Stephen Kenny has handed Jayson Molumby and Adam Idah their first call-ups for Republic of Ireland squad to face Bulgaria and Finland in UEFA Nations League matches next month. 

Molumby impressed on loan to Millwall from Brighton last season with one goal in 36 appearances whilst Idah enjoyed a strong season at Norwich with three goals in 16 appearances across all competitions.

Kenny has retained the goalkeeper selection from last November’s squad whilst Ciaran Clark and Kevin Long both drop out of defence as Seamus Coleman and Darragh Lenihan both are recalled after being omitted from the squad that played Denmark in their final Euro 2020 qualifier.

There however are various midfield changes as Glenn Whelan, Alan Judge, Jack Byrne and Josh Cullen are all dropped in favour of James McCarthy, Harry Arter, Molumby and Brady respectively.

Up front, Kenny has dropped Sean Maguire and James Collins with Callum O’ Dowda, Aaron Connolly, Shane Long all returning alongside Idah who has been selected for the national team for the first time.

Ireland will play Bulgaria away on 3 September 2020 (7:45pm BST) before hosting Finland at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin on 6 September 2020 (5:00pm BST).

Here is the full Republic of Ireland squad for next month’s UEFA Nations League Group B4 games against Bulgaria and Finland.

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (West Ham), Mark Travers (Bournemouth), Kieran O’ Hara (free agent)

Defence: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Wolves), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), John Egan (Sheffield United), Shane Duffy (Brighton), Darragh Lenihan (Blackburn Rovers)

Midfield: James McCarthy (Crystal Palace), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Jeff Hendrick (free agent), Alan Browne (Preston), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Jayson Molumby (Brighton), Robbie Brady (Burnley)

Forward: Callum Robinson (Sheffield United), Callum O’ Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City), Aaron Connolly (Brighton), Adam Idah (Norwich), Troy Parrott (Millwall), Shane Long (Southampton), David McGoldrick (Sheffield United)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.